The production team of Echo consists of members of the academic staff and graduates, and students at the University of South Wales, with myself as chief researcher and also as writer/director.  The team is led by Dr. Coral Houtman, as writer/director.  The cinematographer, Humphry Trevelyan, designers, Don Parker and Leonie Sharrock, and technical designer Adam Martin are lecturers at the school, experienced professionals and members of the research team. Simon Davies, a freelance director and ex-student, edited the project.  Anthony Turner, a fine art student and sculptor, designed and built the installation site. Nick Pollock, an experienced software and hardware designer created the Raspberry Pi interface and hardware.

Cast and Crew

Jaffer Chowdry Narcissus
Hannah Ryan Echo
Brendan Charleson Zeus
Lynn Hunter Hera
Bethan Morgan Tiresias
Ryan Chappell Amenius
Vitti Rimola Echo’s friend
Dan Harris, Louise Hopkins Nymphs
Luke Hull 1st AD
Giles Armstrong 2nd AD
Coral Worth Trainee Director
Nicholas Booth Camera Operator
Craig Oats Camera Operator/Asst
Tim Hole Camera Operator/Asst
Glyn Hamer Sound Recordist
Luke Roulstone Boom Op
Don Parker Art Direction supervisor
Sam Mallett Assistant Art Director
Ben Griffiths Art Director
Steph Borkowski Make up
Cerys Tugwell Wardrobe.
Dan Harris Production Asst.
Cirrus Mirzashafa Continuity/ Asst. Editor
Nimal Tennakoon Editor single camera version
Edward Casey Producer Film
Samo Chandler Producer installation
Owen Brown Assistant Interactive Designer
Jerry Thompson Assistant Interactive Designer
Dafydd Evans Post Production Supervisor
Dai Shell Post Production Sound
Robert Kittridge Music
Humphry Trevelyan Cinematography
Leonie Sharrock Pre-Visualisation
Simon Davies Editor
Adam Martin Interactive Designer
Coral Houtman Director/Writer/Producer
Based on  Robert Graves  Greek Myths (Penguin, 1991)  Song Lyrics by Sappho –  Sonnets LXXIV and LXXXVI,  Translated Bliss Carman.
Thanks to:  All at Mwnci, particularly Richard Moss and Ken, Screen Academy Wales,  Merthyr Mawr National Nature Reserve, Newport Anglers Association,  University of Wales, Newport. All archive clips have been licensed from the BBC Motion Gallery.   Thanks also to Elaine and Ellen Carter, Peter Houtman, Maureen Thomas and Nick Pollock.

Coral Houtman © 2012-2024